…WHEN SELLING YOUR HOUSE

Selling your house is one of the most important transactions of your life.

To conclude a sale quickly, at the best price, and reduce the stress associated to the sale of your house, we suggest avoiding the nine following mistakes:

Ignore necessary improvements

If you want to obtain the best possible price for your house, you have to do some work to improve the perception of the potential buyers.  The repairs do not have to be expensive, but if you accept to invest a little, you might leverage your investment by ten times or more when you sell. It is very important to do these improvements before putting your house for sale. If you don’t have enough money, it is possible to get a loan, which you will be able to repay once your house is sold.

Choosing a broker for the wrong reasons

It is imperative to trust the real estate broker representing you.  You have to have faith in his/her abilities and experience. You need a broker who can easily explain to you the entire listing process, a broker who knows the market really well, has a pool of potential buyers and can give you sound advice to increase your chances of selling.  Do not choose the broker who provided the highest evaluation of your property.  One of the oldest tricks in this business is to hold the promise of a “very good, almost too good” selling price.  The contract is signed and then, the price is reduced.  Choose a broker who provided you with a fair evaluation and who can supply the best performing tools.  It’s not you or me the broker, that will buy your house but a potential buyer. The selling price will be determined only by the market.

The asking price is too high or too low

Setting the asking price should not be taken lightly. Asking too much is as harmful as not asking enough. You have to know that the average buyer will visit 15 to 20 houses before making a decision.  If your property does not compare favourably to other ones in the same price range, potential buyers will not take you seriously. The results:  your property will stay on the market longer and buyers will have the false impression that something is wrong with your house.

Inadequate preparation of your house for the visits

The owner seller controls the quality of the product and the listing real estate broker controls de quality of the marketing efforts. Each year, North-American companies spend billions of dollars in product presentations and package designs. The look is vital. You can’t relocate your house and it would be very difficult to change the layout. However, you can improve the look:

  • Clean like you never cleaned before.
  • Pick-up, rearrange, place and repair.

Correcting little imperfections might seem insignificant, but it can produce a very favourable first impression on the buyers who could already imagine themselves living in your house. The decision to buy a house is more emotional than logical, thus, let the buyer visit as he/she pleases and ensure he/she feels comfortable doing so.

Miscommunicating the information about your house to potential buyers

One of the most important reasons to entrust the sale of your house to a real estate broker is to take advantage of his/her expertise in advertising and specialized marketing tools. Make sure your real estate broker is available and advertises in newspapers with the greatest advertising impact.

  • Allow the real estate broker to install a sign for sale
  • Do not limit the length of time the buyers can take to visit your house
  • Advertise your house in local newspapers
  • List your house on the Internet, ideally on a personalized web site

Hide some defects in the house

As the owner seller, make sure you reveal everything. The informed seller will take the lead and inform the buyer of any known defects that could impact the value of the house. Then, the buyer can fill in his/her offer to purchase with confidence and adjust his/her budget accordingly. This will facilitate the process of the inspection of the property.

About this site
Tools

…LORS DE LA VENTE DE VOTRE MAISON

Vendre votre propriété est l’une des plus importantes transactions de votre vie.
Afin de réaliser une vente rapide, au meilleur prix et réduire le niveau de stress lié à la vente de votre maison, nous vous suggérons d’éviter les erreurs suivantes :

Ignorer les améliorations nécessaires

Si vous voulez obtenir le meilleur prix possible pour votre maison, vous devez faire certains travaux pour améliorer la perception des acheteurs éventuels.  Il n’est pas nécessaire que ces retouches soient onéreuses, mais si vous acceptez de faire cet investissement mineur, vous pourrez le rentabiliser dix fois et peut-être même plus lorsque vous vendrez.  Il est très important que vous fassiez ces améliorations avant de mettre votre demeure sur le marché.  Si vous ne disposé pas des fonds nécessaire, il est possible d’obtenir un prêt que vous rembourserez après la vente.

Choisir un courtier pour les mauvaises raisons

Il est primordial d’avoir confiance en le courtier immobilier qui vous représente, de croire en sa compétence et en son expérience.  Vous voulez un courtier qui peut facilement vous expliquer tout le processus de la mise en marché, qui connaît très bien le marché, qui détient une banque d’acheteurs éventuels et qui peut vous donner de précieux conseils pour augmenter vos chances de vendre.  Ne choisissez surtout pas un courtier en fonction de l’évaluation la plus élevée qui est faite de votre maison.  Le plus vieux truc du métier est de laisser miroiter un prix de vente alléchant, signer le contrat et réduire le prix ensuite.  Choisissez plutôt le courtier qui fait une évaluation juste et qui vous offre les meilleurs outils de performance.  Ce n’est pas ni moi, qui allons acheter votre maison, mais bien un acheteur potentiel.  Le prix de vente sera dicté par le marché seulement.

Prix demandé trop haut ou trop bas

Établis le prix demandé ne doit pas être fait à la légère.  Un prix trop élevé est aussi dommageable qu’un prix trop bas.  Vous devez savoir que l’acheteur moyen peut visiter de 15 à 20 maisons avant de prendre sa décision.  Si votre maison ne se compare pas favorablement aux autres dans la même gamme de prix, vous ne serez pas pris au sérieux par les acheteurs éventuels.  Résultat : votre maison restera sur le marché plus longtemps et les acheteurs penseront à tort qu’il y a quelque chose d’anormal dans votre maison.

Mal préparer votre maison pour les visites

Le propriétaire vendeur contrôle la qualité du produit et le courtier immobilier inscripteur contrôle la qualité de la mise en marché.  Chaque année, les compagnies nord-américaines dépensent des milliards en présentations de produits et design d’emballages.  L’apparence est primordiale.  Vous ne pouvez pas déplacer votre maison et vous pouvez difficilement en changer les divisions.  Par contre, vous pouvez facilement améliorer son apparence :

  • Nettoyer comme jamais.
  • Ramasser, redresser, ranger et réparer.

Corriger les petits détails peut paraître insignifiant, mais cela crée une première impression très favorable pour les acheteurs qui se visualisent vivant chez vous.  La décision d’acheter une maison tient plus de l’émotion que de la logique.  Par conséquent, laissez l’acheteur visiter à sa guise et de manière à générer un sentiment de confort.

Mal diffuser aux acheteurs éventuels l’information sur votre maison

Une des plus importantes raisons de confier la vente de votre maison à un courtier immobilier, c’est de profiter de son expertise en publicité et de ses outils de marketing spécialisés.  Assurez-vous que votre courtier immobilier soit disponible et qu'il annonce dans les médias ayant le plus grand impact.

  • Permettre au courtier immobilier d’installer une enseigne à vendre
  • Ne pas limiter le temps de visite des acheteurs
  • Annoncer votre propriété dans les médias locaux
  • Inscrire votre propriété sur Internet, idéalement un site «web» personnalisé

Cacher certains défauts de votre maison

En tant que propriétaire vendeur, assurez-vous de tout dévoiler.  Le vendeur averti prendra les devants et informera l’acheteur de tout défaut connu pouvant diminuer la valeur de la propriété.  L’acheteur peut ainsi rédiger sa promesse d’achat en toute confiance et ajuster son budget en conséquence.  Ceci permettra de réaliser la condition d’inspection de l’immeuble avec beaucoup plus de facilité.

À propos de ce site
Outils